National Capital Baseball League - League and Website Info
 

NCBL HOME

Score reporting : scores@ncbl.ca

Social Media Email : social@ncbl.ca

Web site contact: Joe Beelen 
Email:
 ncbl@rogers.com 
Phone: 613-355-5565(cell)
 
Work Phone : 613-688-8890 ext 86039 (W) 

Work Email :
 joe.beelen@scotiabank.com

NCBL Executive


 

Name

Phone

Email

Commissioner

Bill Beelen 
32 Pritchard Drive
Nepean, ON

K2G 1B4

613-224-9294 home
613-612-9684 cell

bcbeelen@rogers.com

Treasurer

Craig Cornell

613-249-9036 home 
613-580-2424 x 46203 work

craigcornell@hotmail.com

Head Umpire

Jean Lazure

819-775-3088 home
819-743-0902 cell

lazure@jeanlazure.com

Deputy Head Umpire

Neal Phadnis

 

Neal.Phadnis@cic.gc.ca

Umpire Assignor

Mark Keeping

613-407-4382 cell

keepingmark@hotmail.com

League Secretary

Cory Bond

613-889-2679 cell

cory.bond@hotmail.com

Registrar

Joe Beelen

613-355-5565 cell

ncblrosters@rogers.com

Tier 1 President

Rob Lay

 613-852-5299

layzone@gmail.com

Tier 2 President

Brian Samuel

613-862-6668 cell
613-831-9991 home

briansamuel@rogers.com

Tier 3 President

John Drummond

613-791-8161 home 

jdrumm555@hotmail.com

Tier 4 President

Stuart Hayes


stuart.hayes@rogers.com

Website

Joe Beelen

613-355-5565 cell

ncbl@rogers.com

Operational Committee

Brett Stott

613-552-0886 cell

bstott@gmail.com

Operational Committee

Gary Duke

613-225-2081 home 
613-225-4547 work

gary@southpawproductions.ca

The National Capital Baseball League is Ottawa's only adult amateur baseball league. The league consists of many teams from around the region including Ottawa, Nepean, Kanata, Orleans, Gloucester, Gatineau/Hull, Metcalfe, Winchester, Kingston, Carleton Place and Cornwall.

The NCBL offers players the chance to play the great game of baseball in an organized, fun, and competitive atmosphere. The league is divided into 4 "tiers" with Tier 1 being the most competitive with the highest level of skill. The other Tiers play under the same competitiveness, rules and structure as Tier 1, albeit with slightly lower levels of skill. Besides skill levels, the major difference between the Tiers is the number of games in the regular season (in Tiers 1-3, teams play 24 games while in Tier 4, teams play 20 games). With this structure, the league tries to offer all players the opportunity to play baseball on a level playing field appropriate to their skill levels.

The schedule runs from the middle of May until mid September. NCBL games are played on all nights of the week. Typically games are played at 6:00, 6:15, and 8:30pm on weeknights and at a variety of times during weekends on a number of different fields around the city. In Tiers 1-3, teams play 2-3 nights a week while teams in Tier 4 play about twice a week.

Games ARE umpired and normal baseball rules are used. Each tier plays out a regular season schedule, and then each tier conducts a playoff to crown a champion for the tier. At the end of the season, awards are given out for individual and team accomplishments. Beginning in 2009, the league has also organized a Fall-Ball NCBL season that is played on Saturdays in September/October.  Fall-Ball teams are drafted annually from a mix of interested players from all tiers and multiple teams.

The NCBL is run strictly on a volunteer basis, and is governed by an executive elected by team representatives. Each team is expected to contribute to the league in one way or another.

Each team in the NCBL is independently operated with responsibility for team finances, team recruitment, and team philosophy and discipline. Some teams have sponsors while other teams do not.

For the history of the NCBL go here... http://www.ncbl.ca/leaguehistory.html

For more information on the NCBL, email ncbl@rogers.com or one of the executives listed above.